Review of “Whatever After: Fairest of All”

Whatever After: Fairest of All
By Sarah Mlynowski
Published by Scholastic Inc.
192 pages

When Abby and Jonah move in to their new house, Jonah starts exploring in the basement. When Jonah accidentally knocked on the mirror in the basement at midnight he discovered something strange and wakes up his sister. When Jonah knocks on the mirror again, this time it magically transferred both Abby and Jonah to a strange land. As they begin to explore and look for a way home, they have a series of adventures that make them realize that they are inside the fairy tale of Snow White! During their adventures, they stopped Snow from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray! But then they realized if Snow doesn’t eat the poisoned apple and die, she wouldn’t get her happily ever after. Now it’s up to Abby and Jonah to fix the story, and also find a way back home before their parents wake up.

I like the way the author develops the character, especially Abby.  I like the way she takes care of her little brother, Jonah, decides how to fix the stories, and helps make a happily ever after for Snow. My favorite part is when Snow becomes queen and marries the prince and the evil stepmother queen goes to the dungeons.  I also like when they meet the seven dwarfs who are not the ones we are familiar with (Did you know that in the original version of Snow White, the Brothers Grimm didn’t give the seven dwarfs any names!? The dwarfs have different names in different versions of the story. You can find some of them here:

This book is the first in a series that so far has five books, but more are expected. I think girls who are around 9 years old and like fairy tales and adventure will really enjoy this funny book.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *